Faculty and Staff

Who We Are

The MECPS program is offered through UCI’s Center for Embedded and Cyber-physical Systems (CECS), which is an organized research unit at the University of California, Irvine. CECS faculty members come from the Henry Samueli School of Engineering and the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Sciences.

The Samueli School of Engineering’s mission is to unleash innovation, create opportunities and inspire ingenuity. The school’s faculty members are leaders in their disciplines who have achieved worldwide recognition for their research and dedicated teaching.
Building on a strong foundation of computer science fundamentals, the Donald Bren School of Information and Computer Science conducts cutting-edge research in strategic areas ideal for collaborative work. By blending research with education in multiple disciplines, the school is leading interdisciplinary efforts in order to meet the challenges of the future.


Al Faruque, Ph.D.


University of Karlsruhe, 2009
Computer Science and Engineering

Elaheh Bozorgzadeh, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

University of California, Los Angeles, 2003
Computer Science

Pai H. Chou, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

University of Washington, 1998
Computer Science and Engineering

Quoc Viet Dang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Teaching

University of California, Irvine, 2017
Computer Systems and Software

Rainer Dömer, Ph.D.
Professor and Student Advisor

University of Dortmund, 2000
Information & Computer Science

Nikil Dutt, Ph.D.
Chancellor’s Professor

University of Illinois, 1989
Computer Science and Engineering

Daniel D. Gajski, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

University of Pennsylvania, 1974
Computer and Information Science

Tony Givargis, Ph.D.

University of California, Riverside, 2001
Computer Science

Ian Harris, Ph.D.

University of California, San Diego, 1997
Computer Science

Sitao Huang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2021
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Faryar Jabbari, Ph.D.

University of California, Los Angeles, 1986
Mechanical Engineering

Fadi Kurdahi, Ph.D.
Director of MECPS


University of Southern California, 1987
Computer Engineering

Marco Levorato, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

University of Padova, 2009
Computer Science

 Kwei-Jay Lin,  Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

University of Maryland, 1985
Computer Science

Alex Nicolau, Ph.D.

Yale, 1984
Information & Computer Science

Amir Rahmani, Ph.D.

University of Turku, 2012
Embedded Computer and Electronic Systems

Mahya Safavi, Ph.D.
Research specialist

University of California, Irvine, 2020
Biomedical Engineering

Neil Sahota, MBA

University of California, Irvine
Business Administration

Yasser Shoukry, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

UCLA, 2015
Electrical Engineering

Gene Tsudik, Ph.D.
Chancellor’s Professor

University of Southern California, 1991
Computer Science

Industry Advisory Board

Judit Giró Benet

Co-Founder and CEO
The Blue Box

Rosario Cammarota

Principal Engineer
Intel Labs

Dave Garrett

Co-Founder, CTO
Fabric Cryptography

Mia Fuji

Academic Enablement
Siemens Digital Industries Software

Shaoshan Liu

Co-Founder and Chairman

Camille Rizko

Founder and CEO
Doremi Labs

Nabil Wasily

Co-Founder and CEO
ThirdWayv, Inc.

Pooria Yaghini

Engineer and Educator


Fadi Kurdahi, PhD
Faculty Director

(949) 824-8104

Rainer Doemer, PhD
Graduate Advisor

(949) 824-9007

Mohammad Al Faruque, PhD
Curriculum Director

(949) 824 1909

Amy Pham
MECPS Program Director

(949) 824-6156

Grace Wu

(949) 824-8919

Halle Gonzales
Program Coordinator

(949) 824-9127

Debbie Lewis
Career Counselor

(949) 824-1904

Kelly Tran

Student Assistants

Contact Us

Have questions? Contact us.